Friday, August 31, 2012

Hurricane Isaac (2012)



Hurricane Isaac is currently affecting the northern Gulf Coast of the United States, including the western Florida Panhandle, Alabama, Mississippi and Louisiana. The ninth tropical cyclone and ninth named storm of the 2012 Atlantic hurricane season, Isaac developed from a tropical wave located east of the Lesser Antilles on August 21, strengthening into a tropical storm later that day. Isaac passed over Hispaniola and Cuba as a strong tropical storm, killing at least 29 individuals, as it entered the Gulf of Mexico. Isaac reached hurricane strength the morning of August 28. The storm made its first U.S. landfall at 6:45 p.m. CDT that evening (2345 UTC), near the mouth of the Mississippi River. It made a second and final landfall at 2:00 a.m. CDT (0700 UTC) the next morning at Port Fourchon, Louisiana.

Read more: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Isaac